Contact Planning & Housing

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Planning and Housing Division
1017 Middlefield Road
Redwood City, CA 94063
Email: planning@redwoodcity.org
Direct: (650) 780-7234
Fax: (650) 780-0128

Aaron Aknin
Assistant City Manager/Community Development Director
(650) 780-7293
aaknin@redwoodcity.org

Division Lead: Steven Turner, Planning Manager, 650-780-5934, sturner@redwoodcity.org

Planning Counter Hours:

  • Monday: 8:00am to 5:00pm
  • Tuesday: 12:30pm to 5:00pm (Closed in the AM)
  • Wednesday: 8:00am to 12:30pm (Closed in the PM)
  • Thursday: 12:30pm to 5:00pm (Closed in the AM)
  • Friday: 8:00am to 5:00pm.

Development Projects Website: Summaries and status of all major commercial and residential projects are posted on our website. Please click here to view the information.


Current and Advance Planning Services Teams

Planning staff reviews development projects for consistency with the General Plan, Zoning Ordinance, and other applicable sections of the Municipal Code. In addition, Planning manages long-term land use studies, special planning projects, and amendments to the General Plan, and Zoning Ordinance.

Karen Vaughn, Principal Planner kvaughn@redwoodcity.org 780-7239
Diana O’Dell, Principal Planner dodell@redwoodcity.org 780-7236
Lindy Chan, Senior Planner lchan@redwoodcity.org 780-7237
Lisa Costa-Sanders, Contract Planner lcostasanders@redwoodcity.org 780-7363
Christopher Rogers, Associate Planner crogers@redwoodcity.org 780-5939
Apollo Rojas, Associate Planner   arojas@redwoodcity.org 780-7365
William Chui, Associate Planner wchui@redwoodcity.org 780-5916


Housing Services Team

The Housing Services team handles the City’s affordable housing stock, implementing the Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) and Home Investment Partnership (HOME) programs, and managing the City’s housing rehabilitation and repair programs.

Rhonda Coffman, Housing & Grants Manager rcoffman@redwoodcity.org 780-7299
Cindy Avila, Housing & Grants Specialist cavila@redwoodcity.org 780-7229
Lucy Oropeza-Garcia, Contract Secretary  loropezagarcia@redwoodcity.org 780-7375 


Landscape Design & Trees Team

The Landscape Design & Trees Team handles the management and oversight of the urban forest on private property. This team implements the Tree Preservation ordinance and provides guidance on tree pruning and removal. This team works closely with Public Works to implement. The Street Tree Ordinance and address other public tree issues. See this FAQ document for more information.

Charlie Drechsler, City Arborist cdrechsler@redwoodcity.org 780-7295


Geographic Information Systems Team

The Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Team develops maps and related products to visually communicate data to the public. This team provides also provides mapping services for departments throughout the City.

Stephen DeJong, GIS Coordinator  sdejong@redwoodcity.org 780-7230
Daniel Moyer, GIS Technician  dmoyer@redwoodcity.org 780-7298
Victoria Beckley, GIS Technician (Part-time)  vbeckley@redwoodcity.org 780-7235


Administrative and Management Team

Members of this team provide staff support, helping each team to achieve goals and positively contribute to the overall success of the City.

Aaron Aknin, Assistant City Manager/Community Development Director aaknin@redwoodcity.org 780-7293
Steven Turner, Planning Manager
sturner@redwoodcity.org 780-5934
Christopher Dacumos, Management Analyst II
cdacumos@redwoodcity.org 780-5957
Michelle Littlefield, Program Lead, Digital Services & Data Analytics mlittlefield@redwoodcity.org 780-7238
Kristina Mateo, Secretary
kmateo@redwoodcity.org 780-7233 
Raisa Sanchez, Contract Secretary  rsanchez@redwoodcity.org  780-7291