News Releases

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
To receive e-mailed press releases sign up here.

Redwood City Awarded Silver Level "Walk Friendly Communities" Designation

Post Date:09/17/2012

For Immediate Release

Jessica Manzi
Community Development Department


Redwood City, CA - September 17, 2012 - Redwood City is proud to announce that the Pedestrian and Bicycle Information Center ( has designated our community a Silver Level "Walk Friendly Community" in recognition of our walkability initiatives and programs.

Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Transportation Federal Highway Administration and FedEx, Walk Friendly Communities is a national recognition program honoring communities for their commitment to pedestrian safety, mobility, access, and comfort. Redwood City is one of just two Silver Level communities named nationwide during this round of awards, and is the only city in San Mateo County to be recognized. More information on the Walk Friendly Communities program is online

Among the Walk Friendly attributes which placed Redwood City at the Silver Level are:

  • The City's Downtown Precise Plan, providing for a form-based code, density bonuses, and streamlined approval for infill projects
  • The Redwood City Police Department's traffic unit's continual coordination with City transportation engineers and planners, to identify and mitigate locations with high incidences of traffic safety violations
  • Use of traffic calming treatments such as speed humps/traffic tables, traffic circles, and roadway reconfigurations
  • A complete community inventory of curb ramps

The Walk Friendly Community designation, awarded from bronze to platinum, is given to applicant communities that have demonstrated a commitment to improving and sustaining walkability and pedestrian safety through comprehensive programs, plans and policies. To date, 33 communities in the U.S. have been designated as Walk Friendly Communities.

Redwood City supports "Complete Streets" and multi-modal transportation to ensure that City-owned and regional transportation systems are designed and operated for people of all ages and abilities who walk, bicycle, drive, and use transit.


Return to full list >>