FEMA Flood Insurance Rate Maps

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

In August 2015, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) issued new preliminary Flood Insurance Rate Maps (FIRM) for the City of Redwood City. FEMA presented at an informational outreach meeting for the affected property owners in Redwood City and answered questions about the preliminary flood insurance rate maps.

In early 2019, FEMA provided updated maps for Redwood City residents that go into effect April 5. Excluding Redwood Shores, there are an additional 950 parcels included in a Special Flood Hazard Area in the 2019 Flood Insurance Rates Maps (FIRMs), when compared to the 2012 maps. 

Most residents should not see an immediate property impact. However, flood insurance may now be required when a property owner obtains financing backed by the federal government (their lender will most likely require special flood insurance coverage) or when an owner develops or significantly redevelops their property per Chapter 41 of the Redwood City Municipal Code.  This chapter of the Municipal Code is consistent with National Flood Insurance Program standards and enables parcels within the City to participate in the National Flood Insurance Program.

FEMA Preliminary Flood Insurance Rate Maps (2019)

Flood zone information from the FEMA website:

Flood hazard areas identified on the Flood Insurance Rate Map are identified as a Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA). SFHA are defined as the area that will be inundated by the flood event having a 1-percent chance of being equaled or exceeded in any given year. The 1-percent annual chance flood is also referred to as the base flood or 100-year flood. SFHAs are labeled as Zone A, Zone AO, Zone AH, Zones A1-A30, Zone AE, Zone A99, Zone AR, Zone AR/AE, Zone AR/AO, Zone AR/A1-A30, Zone AR/A, Zone V, Zone VE, and Zones V1-V30. Moderate flood hazard areas, labeled Zone B or Zone X (shaded) are also shown on the FIRM, and are the areas between the limits of the base flood and the 0.2-percent-annual-chance (or 500-year) flood. The areas of minimal flood hazard, which are the areas outside the SFHA and higher than the elevation of the 0.2-percent-annual-chance flood, are labeled Zone C or Zone X (unshaded).

Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Map

View the Interactive Web Map by clicking on the icon below:

neighborhoods_greenINTERACTIVE WEB MAP

Additional FEMA information

Helpful Documents

What Property Owners Need to Know (Espanol)

Coastal Hazards & Flood Mapping