Online Learning and Play For Kids

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

We are working hard to find educational and fun ways for you and yours to keep learning and growing while sheltering in place. Below are resources compiled by our Youth Services staff. If you have any more suggestions, email us here

 noun_kids book_2753497

noun_Reading_2251761

noun_drawing_3185038

noun_Calendar_3282683

noun_Learning_3144470

Stories and Play with
RCPL Librarians

Stories from
our Community

Little Learners
Remote

Online Events
Calendar

Recommended
Resources

Stories and Play with RCPL Librarians

Welcome to our pre-recorded video series, Stories and Play with RCPL Librarians. The recorded stories are posted here on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays at 11 am as well as on library social media channels. Cuentos en Casa, pre-recorded Spanish language videos are available Mondays at 11 am.

View the playlists here:

Friday, May 29

Wednesday, May 27

Monday, May 25, Cuentos en Casa

Friday, May 22

Wednesday, May 20

Monday, May 18, Cuentos en Casa

Friday, May 15

Wednesday, May 13

Monday, May 11, Cuentos en Casa

Friday, May 8

Wednesday, May 6

Monday, May 4 Cuentos en Casa

Friday, May 1

Wednesday, April 29

Monday, April 27 Cuentos en Casa

Friday, April 24

Wednesday, April 22

Monday, April 20 Cuentos en Casa

Friday, April 17

Wednesday, April 15

Monday, April 13 Cuentos en Casa

Friday, April 10

Wednesday, April 8

Friday, April 3

Wednesday, April 1

Friday, March 27

Stories from our Community

We are excited to announce another recorded stories series, coming to you on Tuesday, May 12 at 11am! Stories from your Community will be an ongoing series of different members of the community reading stories. Our first release is a good one, featuring @RedwoodCityFireDepartment! Coming soon on Tuesdays, look for stories from Redwood City managers, and stories in Persian and Mandarin.

Tuesday, May 26

Tuesday, May 19

Tuesday, May 12

Little Learners Remote

Little Learners is a craft and storytime for ages 3-5. Families will be able to pick up materials from 10am-Noon on Wednesdays. Then tune in at 4pm for stories and craft instructions. For a welcome video and more details about the program, go here.

Books, Movies and More with your Library Card!

Best Juvenile Graphic Novels on Hoopla

Free Family-Friendly Films on Kanopy

Yoga for kids!

ABC Mouse

BookFlix

LIVE TUTORING

Brainfuse Online Tutoring: available 1pm-10pm daily in English and Español

 

Staff Recommended Resources

STORIES

Storyline Online: Stories read by actors

Storytime from Space: Astronauts read science themed picture books on the International Space Station

The Fable Cottage: Bilingual Storytimes in Spanish, French, Italian, and German.

READ

Kate Messner- collection of authors reading stories and activities presented by age:

Resources for grades PreK-2 (ages 3-7) 

Resources for grades 3-5 (ages 8-10) 

Resources for grades 6-8 (ages 11-13) 

LEARN

Science Mom: Daily QuaranTime science shows with demonstrations and activities to try at home

Monterey Bay Aquarium: Watch the animals on Live Cameras from your home

Scholastic Classroom (Grades PreK-6+): Scholastic Inc. books, videos and activities available for free

Khan Academy Math: Math lessons for all ages

At Home Science: at home science experiments from CuriOdyssey

Smithsonian Institute: Activities for kids from the Smithsonian Institute

PLAY

Daily Doodle with Mo Willems: A daily visit to Mo Willems’ art studio

Art for Kids: YouTube Channel with art projects for all ages

Indoor Activities: 87 Energy Busting Indoor Activities by What Moms Love

Insight Timer for kids: Free meditations for children.