The Records Unit is the central repository of records vital to an efficiently running law enforcement agency. The unit maintains police records including crime reports, warrants, citations, and registrants. In addition to records maintenance, the unit is often a first point of contact for citizens - either through the telephone via the police business line or in-person at the front desk.
The Records Unit is open to the public Monday - Friday 8 a.m. - 5:30 p.m., excluding city-observed holidays. During these hours Records personnel provide assistance with crime reports, accident reports, ticket sign-offs, local clearance letters, fingerprinting, and other services. The unit also assists other agencies with local record checks, processes internal subpoenas, and issues vehicle releases.
Front Lobby hours Monday – Friday 8 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. (excluding city observed holidays)
Records personnel can also be reached by telephone, Monday – Friday 8 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. at (650) 780-7100
Police reports may only be released to authorized parties and in accordance with State law. Reports involving certain types of crime (i.e. juvenile cases and some sex-related crimes) cannot be released to anyone except district attorneys or law enforcement agencies.
- To determine if a report can be released to you, or for information about the status of your report, please contact the Records Unit at (650) 780-7100
- To obtain a copy of a releasable police report (i.e. theft, property damage or loss, incident reports, traffic accidents), you must be a named involved party to the case (not merely a witness)
- The processing and copying fee for all police reports is $12* (payable by cash or check only) for the first 8 pages, and $1 for each additional page
- If you are involved in a traffic collision and would like to purchase your report online, you can do so by going to https://policereports.lexisnexis.com/
Local Record Check – Clearance Letter
A clearance letter may be required when going through a background check or investigation. This letter is only available to those who reside in the City of Redwood City, and only provides an arrest record check of our local records system. The fee for this letter is $12* (payable by cash or check only). Walk-in requests are welcome during Lobby Hours from 8 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Please bring valid photo identification.
For information on obtaining a State of California criminal record (for personal review only), please visit the State of California Department of Justice, Office of the Attorney General website here.
Live Scan – Fingerprinting
Live Scan and Ink Card fingerprinting services are provided by appointment only. Appointments are available Tuesday through Thursday between 10 a.m. - noon and 2 - 3 p.m. Please call the Records Unit at (650) 780-7100 to schedule an appointment. Fingerprinting requires valid U.S. or foreign-issued government identification. Live Scan services require a Live Scan form provided by the agency requesting the service. The cost for ink cards is $23* per card. The cost for Live Scan includes the RCPD Rolling Fee of $23* plus Department of Justice $32 and/or FBI $17 (credit cards not accepted).
All vehicles towed by RCPD must have a release form issued by the Police Department before the tow company can release them. Eligible vehicles are released in person ONLY to the registered owner of the vehicle at Redwood City Police Department.
- The owner must supply a valid California driver’s license and pay the $95* release fee (credit cards not accepted) to the Redwood City Police Department. The owner may also have to supply current valid registration depending on the reason for the tow. If the owner does not have a valid California driver’s license, then they must bring a valid California licensed driver with them.
- After obtaining a vehicle release form from the Police Department, the owner must take the form to the tow company, where all towing and storage fees must be paid to the tow company.
If your vehicle was repossessed in the City of Redwood City (excluding unincorporated areas), you will need to pay a $15* fee (payable by cash or check only) to the Redwood City Police Department. You must be the registered owner of the vehicle and present a valid California driver’s license.
If your violation is a vehicle equipment problem, ensure it is fixed before coming to the Police Department. There is currently no fee associated with this service. Walk-ins are welcome Monday - Friday from 8 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
Please note: Violations of Vehicle Code section16028 (automobile liability insurance) will be dismissed only upon (1) you showing or mailing to the court evidence of financial responsibility valid at the time the notice to appear was issued, and (2) your payment of a transaction fee.
For information on permits and fees, please click here.
*Fees are subject to change based on the Redwood City fee schedule for the fiscal year*